Congratulations to All 2017 Valor Awards Recipients!

In 1982, the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department Valor Awards Program was established to officially and publicly recognize the exceptionally heroic acts performed by members of the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department.

These awards signify courage, acts of heroism while saving the life of another, traumatic physical injury while performing their job, preservation of human life, personal commitment, and sacrifice to help others. Deputy Sheriffs are called upon to fluidly handle unexpected, challenging and dynamic situations. They do not shy away from uncertainty and work hard to make peace for others, often times at personal risk. Every day, the men and women of the LASD perform their duties in a professional manner. Today, however, this program honors those who extended themselves extraordinarily beyond what was required or asked of them.

Every year, department members who perform acts of great courage and heroism, who go above and beyond the call of duty to save the lives of others while placing their own lives at risk, are honored and recognized at the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department Medal of Valor Awards Ceremony.

This year, Sheriff Jim McDonnell honored 59 Department members, two retired LASD sheriff’s deputies, and private citizens at the event held at the University of Southern California’s Galen Center. Special guest and Master of Ceremonies, Jovana Lara, ABC7 Eyewitness News Anchor, spoke of those heroic actions of each award recipient before a large audience.

Los Angeles Lakers General Manager Rob Pelinka and Champion Athlete Jami Marseilles captured the essence of the evening, sharing characteristics and experiences of perseverance in the face of adversity, stepping boldly into action, and staying the course no matter how difficult or impossible things may seem.


Among the many recipients of awards were deputies from Palmdale Station and a civilian who pulled an unconscious, trapped driver from a car engulfed in flames, saving his life. Their heroic actions were captured on video and seen by thousands of viewers throughout the nation. In an effort to save the life of another, they gave no thought to the potential sacrifice of their own safety. For their selfless actions and placing themselves in immediate peril, Deputies Jeremy Carlisle, Zachary Marshall and Jonathan Schnereger were awarded the Medal of Valor.

On February 15, 2016, Deputies May and Nelson responded to a call of a six year-old boy being mauled by a pitbull. The dog had a firm grip on the boy and was violently thrashing its head from side to side with the child in his mouth. The boy was bleeding profusely, screaming and crying in pain. The deputies fired several rounds into the dog’s body, successfully freeing the little boy and tending to his wounds. Weeks following the incident, having heard the little boy was having nightmares, they arranged to visit the child and his family in an effort to boost his morale and wish him a speedy recovery. For displaying great bravery and decisiveness during a difficult and deadly situation and placing themselves in immediate life-threatening peril, Deputies Christopher May and Adam Nelson were awarded the Meritorious Conduct Medal-Gold.

The award recipients for this year's ceremony are as follows:

Deputy Christopher D. Allende 
Deputy Chad E. Vanden Berg 

✯ ✯ ✯ MEDAL OF VALOR ✯ ✯ ✯
Sergeant Jaime Alvarez 
Sergeant Alex Kim 
Sergeant H. Matthew Ortega
Deputy Walter Arcos Jr.
Deputy Dmitry Y. Barkon 
Deputy Jeremy B. Carlisle 
Deputy Casey R. Cheshier 
Deputy Mark S. Claahsen 
Deputy Arthur B. Garcia Jr. 
Deputy Edward S. Gonsalves 
Deputy Pedro Guerrero 
Deputy Maria Guzman 
Deputy Steven W. Kaniewski 
Retired Deputy Rickey Hernandez 
Retired Deputy Orlando Macias 
Deputy Zachary W. Marshall 
Deputy Jacqueline M. Morales 
Deputy James S. Moss 
Deputy David A. Navarrete 
Deputy Jason W. Pearson 
Deputy Richard Raygoza 
Deputy Antonio Rios 
Deputy Juan C. Sanchez 
Deputy Jonathan P. Schnereger
Deputy James L. Sharp

Deputy Matthew J. Fitzpatrick 
Lieutenant Mark A. Reyes 
Sergeant Oscar R. Butao 
Deputy Frank Barragan 
Deputy Lawrence A. Cervantes 
Deputy James J. Colbert 
Deputy Jason E. Colon
Deputy Edgar S. Cuevas 
Deputy Jose Dominguez 
Deputy Christopher W. Hardwick 
Deputy Tanner A. Jauch 
Deputy Thomas J. Lynch 
Deputy Robert W. Maas 
Deputy Gerardo Marroquin 
Deputy Christopher W. May 
Deputy Adam F. Nelson 
Deputy Arturo Ortiz 
Deputy Leticia Reyes 
Deputy Timothy M. Rivera 
Deputy Eric C. Saavedra

Lieutenant Timothy B. Milliman 
Sergeant Mark R. Marriott-Lodge 
Sergeant Bryan T. Sirkel 
Deputy Alfredo F. Galvan 
Deputy Michael J. Abbot 
Deputy Karina Cervantes 
Reserve Deputy Joseph A. Fertal 
Deputy Cesar Hinojosa 
Deputy Ayub B. Manjra 
Deputy Randolph S. Meyers 
Deputy Morgan H. Nyberg 
Deputy Laila K. Razo 

Deputy Giovanni L. Lampignano 

Deputy Dean S. Davis III 

✯ ✯ ✯ HUMANITARIAN ✯ ✯ ✯
Jerry Brascia Private Citizen
Ami Rusmussen Private Citizen
Myles Walters Private Citizen
Casey Walters Private Citizen